Welcome to Apple-Land part 2

As I mentioned last week, I recently acquired the new iPhone 7 and an iPad Mini 2.

My experience with Apple products in general has been fairly limited. My school growing up had an assortment in the computer lab over the years, but we were limited to research and word processing. But a desktop computer from the late nineties is nothing like the tablets and smartphones we have today.

The Mini 2 has volume and mute controls, power and home buttons, and the standard headset port. Although the power port is identical to the 7 and seemingly interchangeable, I have not attempted to see if the headset adaptor would work. I imagine not…

The screen clarity is rather good, as is the cameras, and its ability to run on either WiFi or network makes it rather versatile.

Especially when you add a Bluetooth keyboard, then it becomes a wicked little productivity device. I can just boot up my chosen word processor app and start typing away. The apps take up the entire screen and there is no room for multi-tasking, so it makes it easier to focus.

Since it runs on iOS 10, the Mini 2 comes with a bulk of the same apps that the iPhone 7 does, and most downloadable apps seem to be interchangeable between the two. With the proper settings activated, you can install apps to a pair of linked devices simultaneously.

The only other tablet device that I have to compare against the Mini 2 are two aging kindle Fires – one of them is a first generation. The differences between the two Kindles are astounding. Granted, there is a small age difference, but even the way the Android operating system is tailored for the second generation differs from the first. I don’t even think that the first gen is eligible for software updates anymore…

To be honest, now that Apple has the Kindle and Amazon apps available for iPhone and iPad, there is no contest. The iPad is the better tablet. However, I will still use my Kindle as an e-reader, largely so I won’t have to disconnect my iPad from my keyboard case.

There are pros and cons to both iOS and Android. Hardwear-wise, you cannot pop out the battery of an Apple device for a hard reboot. They can now accept external memory storage, but for the life of me, I cannot get the hatch to open.

As for Android, there may be too much variety. Each device basically has a customized operating system. A Samsung Galaxy phone can run a selected app just fine, while an HTC phone with same app and update phase may have bugs, if it even works.

Another difference is that Apple/iTunes vets the apps before they made available. Google play is not so stringent. Does that make iOS immune from malicious programming? Most certainly not, but it does provide an additional buffer against potential trouble.

I am beginning to sound like an Apple fan girl, I know. But Samsung has run into some bad-luck lately too, and my husband needed an Apple device for his job, so here we are. First, it’s an iPhone and an iPad. What’s next? An iWatch?

Leave a Reply

