Welcome to Apple-Land part 1

I am now the owner of a brand new iPhone and iPad mini. Having used Android devices for several years, it is a bit of a change.

Hardwear-wise, the 7 feels pretty nice in my hand. It is solid and the edges are smooth. The power and volume buttons are in positions comparable to those on the Androids that I have used. It also has a switch that allows you to mute the ringer without having to actually open up the phone, which I rather like.

The power plug is also nice in that there is no “upside down” when you go to charge the phone. What is going to take some getting used to, is the fact that there is no port cover like my S5 has. I will not miss the constant reminders to secure the hatch, but I will miss the prevention of dust and dirt from getting into the port.

The iPhone 7 does lack a visible headphone jack. For this new model of phone, Apple has delegated that function to the power port as well. The ear buds provided with the phone are equipped with the new plug end, but to be honest are by no means comfortable for me. The good news is, that Apple has also provided an adapter so that you can use your choice of headphones or earbuds with the phone.

The home button has no real “give” to it, so to speak. It is hyper-responsive, and my husband is pleased with the scanner lock, but I miss the sensation of an actual button being depressed. There is no audible click and no mechanism to give way. Plus, if you hold the home pad for too long, the voice control activates. Press it multiple times in quick succession, and it brings up an app history.

The iPhone does lack the back button of the Android, however. With it, I could ensure that an app was closed and not running in the background.

The screen is only slightly smaller on the 7 than with my S5, but the clarity is WAY better. The camera is also better.

Battery life seems to be pretty good. I can play my games on my phone for extended periods without needing to plug it in. Even now, it is going for almost 24 hours without charging, and the battery is only at about half.

Software-wise, there is not too much of a difference overall. Both iOs and Android have their proprietary coding, of course, but both still have pretty similar UIs. You can swipe to access different app pages, there is a notification drop down, and they have many of the same basic apps, like the clock, calendar, mail, and several others.

The iPhone mail app is cool. I can access all of my email accounts from the same app, no signing in or out. It is also easier to select multiple messages at once.

The phone app/contact list is a bit confusing. While trying to figure out how to add my husband’s new contact info, I accidentally called him several times in the process. The text/messaging function is similar to Android, although I have not really used it much.

The auto-correct seems to require some use to properly calibrate. I have never been heavily reliant on it, but I can’t help but notice that it does take some liberties. The S5 did make changes, however, it highlighted them so that you could see them easily and fix them if it messed things up.

Next week, I will talk about the iPad Mini. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

