The Fall of Hyperion

The Fall of Hyperion
The Fall of Hyperion (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I have finally finished reading Dan Simmon‘s The Fall of Hyperion. That man has got to be one of the driest writers that I have ever read. The biggest problem that I had with Hyperion and The Fall of Hyperion was chiefly the dearth of description that M. Simmons employs.

As a writer, I understand the importance and the difficulty of fleshing out a world and the characters in it. But too much description just bogs everything down. With all of the details spelled out for them, the readers can’t place characters in contexts that they can identify with. That was another thing that I had problems with. Although important, I found their origin stories to be boring. Especially the Consul’s and Lamia’s. I couldn’t really identify with any of the characters, aside from the Ousters.

Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed the premise of the story immensely and look forward to reading the other two books in the series. I just wish that they weren’t so much of a chore to read…

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

