That Perfect Pitch

While looking for ways to get more readers of my story, I began looking through writing/ critiquing groups. That is how I came across Wattpad and Worthy of Publishing. But there was one more that I found. Called Autonomy, it is run by HarperCollins and is effectively a recruiting ground. I have yet to actually post my story there because they require you post some pitches for your work.

So that got me to thinking. I have no pitch yet. I don’t even really know how to write one!

Research has shown me that is no easy feat. There are different kinds of situation appropriate pitches. There is a one-sentence/”log line” pitch. An “elevator pitch“, and the long pitch typically found in book jackets. Here’s a site that does a way better job of explaining these than I could ever hope to do.

How to Write a Pitch for your Novel

It has given me some food for thought, and I’ve been working on my own pitches. Here is my log-line:

After bandits destroy her village, the sole survivor is raised by Elves and finds herself at the center of the final battle between Life and Death.

Enhanced by Zemanta
One thought on “That Perfect Pitch

Leave a Reply

