Book Shopping

I love to read — I just love the written word actually, and have ever since I could comprehend what was being read to me. But I think I love collecting books more. There is nothing like a shelf full of books to choose from. To just plain look at. It is a thing of beauty.

So you can imagine how happy I was when I got the okay to spend some money on books. (Things have been tight lately.) However, I seem to be enjoying just adding to my Amazon wish list instead! Seriously, I think that thing has quadrupled in length over the past 48 hours. I’ve been reminded like half a dozen times that I need to pick out some books to order, but I just can’t decide. There are just so many that I think that I need right now.

Once I narrow it down, then the real fun begins. I can sit for hours searching for the best deals on used books. Seriously. It’s like a game to me. There are notes and calculations involved to get the most books I can while staying inside of my budget. I had a $40 limit once and got 10 books and three dvds. I was getting packages for a week straight. It was like Christmas!

It is safe to say that it will take the better part of a week to decide what I want and find the best deals on Amazon. Then I have to compare that to what my husband finds on eBay, his new favorite playground. (He wants this to help his rating. *eyeroll*) Oh well. At least I will get some books!

One thought on “Book Shopping

  1. I have to say I am with you on that obsession. A few years back I was able to obtain a First Edition Emily Dickinson book- clearly never to be read but to be admired. I was in awe for months after it arrived. Nothing compares to the smell and look of a classic book.

Leave a Reply

