The book that can never be

I had a cool dream the other night, but I don’t know what prompted it. I forgot how the whole thing started, but at one point, there was this really old leather-bound tome with yellowed pages that I had to use to help defeat a demon (probably too much Buffy the Vampire Slayer there πŸ˜› ). So I’m flipping through the book, looking for information, when the book changes.

It had since changed to a brand new hardcover book with a dust jacket and beautiful, glossy pages. And it was all about Sailor Moon, of all things. It had character biographies and descriptions of their abilities broken down by character, complete with individual color scheme backgrounds. And these were full-edge page bleeds that you would typically have to go to a professional printer to have done. But the unique thing about this book, was that the pictures were not just pictures, they were those movable GIF images. I would touch them in the dream, and they would play like a movie clip.

Now, I know that some of the e-Readers are capable of such a feat. There are magazines that have movie clips embedded into the e-Read copy, and some children’s books have moving images that simulate the pages of a pop-up book. But, as far as I know, the technology does not yet exist to have a fully functioning video clip printed onto a page of a real book. Sadly, there is no real purpose for such a thing, not with the digital realm as pervasive as it is.

In the dream, I had to steel myself from looking at every page, because I would have plenty of time to go through it later. So imagine how I felt when I woke up the next morning to realize that gorgeous book did not exist, and would never exist. Yep, I was disappointed all right. Not to the point where I could have cried, but almost. Granted, the book was about a niche subject, but it would still have been cool to have. πŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “The book that can never be

Leave a Reply

