Flavor of the Week: “Strega”

I’ve decided that once a week I am going to try to post a bit about my ‘current’ writing projects. And by current, I mean the one that I feel somewhat inspired to work on in the short term. (I have a very bad habit of jumping around from project to project when I get stuck.)

This week’s “flavor” has the working title of Strega, the archaic Italian word for ‘witchcraft’. (Not to be confused in any way with the novel of the same name by Andrew Vachss.) It’s a medieval romance story with a long lost prince. It’s been done time and again, I know, but when the idea gets stuck in your head, you gotta do something about it or it will drive you bonkers. šŸ˜› To up the corniness, it currently even starts with “It was a dark and stormy night“!

I’ve been doing research on the pagan high-holy days, because I plan to use them as a timing mechanism of sorts to help move some important plot points along. Unfortunately, they’ve caused me to re-arrange some important scenes and re-write a fair chunk of what I have for my story so far. šŸ˜¦ Better off in the early stages, rather than 2-3 drafts down the road, I guess. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

