Why is a Raven like a Writing Desk?

“Why is a Raven like a Writing Desk?” That is the question put to Alice while she is adventuring in Wonderland. She never learns the answer to it, and just shrugs it off as part of the nonsense that is Wonderland. I believe that the answer is that both can mock a person.

Ravens are intelligent birds, and like to play games. Especially with people and other animals capable of feeling annoyed. They are known to take objects and will often take them away to their nests. Writing desks, although are inanimate objects, seem to do the same.

As a writer, there have been plenty of times when I have gone to sit at my desk to work and find my tools missing or not where I left them. Or an idea that I had suddenly disappeared in a puff of smoke as soon as I get sat down. Then there are the times when my creativity seems to have run dry completely, and desk just sits there, seeming to stare at me and try to guilt-trip me because I have nothing. Not even a dirty limerick to jot down.

I think the question itself came about because Lewis Carroll (pseudonym of Charles Lutwidge Dodgson) suffered at the hands of his own Writing desk, and was put into the story as a sort of personal and inside joke, something that those who have labored on their own literary works can relate to.

What say you?

One thought on “Why is a Raven like a Writing Desk?

  1. My desk once lost a twenty page short story. It wouldn’t be that odd, expect it was the only thing on my desk. Stupid desk held it prisoner for 48 hours before it coughed it back up.

Leave a Reply

